TESTIMONIALS - MARA BUSH CAMP
We love our camp, and we are incredibly happy and grateful to all our guests who have had a wonderful experience with us

TESTIMONIALS

Here are some of our testimonials. For more, click on the corresponding icons below

Based on 475 reviews.
sonal h
sonal h
2021-12-10
Worth it 💕 Mara bush was a fantastic experience! From the welcome reception (by far the best fresh juice yum!) to the rooms and the food!! The staff and chef Jackson went out of their way to make us vegetarian meals and customize meals and the dishes were spot on! Leaving so fulfilled, worth it! Special shout out to Nelson, Pose and Daniel! 💕💕 blessings to you all! Mingi blessings! Thank you! Ps the croc photo was the view from our room!
Emilynpro
Emilynpro
2021-12-03
Perfect, special, memorable - can't say enough good things about Mara Bush! This place great from start to finish - the facilities, the staff, the food - I seriously cannot say enough. We were a group of 8 and we booked the private wing so I can't speak to the rest of the camp, but the private wing was spectacular. The tents were spacious and very comfortable and nicely spaced from the other tents in the private wing. Each tent had a little patio area where you could sit and watch the hippos in the lagoon outside! This is also where we enjoyed our french press and biscuits every morning - Mara Bush spoils you. The staff is really what made our stay special and memorable. One member of our group had a birthday coming up shortly after our trip wrapped up so we used the trip as a way to kick off her birthday celebrations with a surprise sundowner (if you have the opportunity to stay at Mara Bush - DO THIS!!!) that our safari planner worked with the staff at Mara to organize. Our guide drove us up to this lovely spot in the middle of the Maasai Mara where Collins and Bernard/Safari were waiting with snacks and drinks for us while we watched the sunset!! Later that night they went above and beyond and brought a cake to our table for dessert while singing local songs. This made everyone's night so special and memorable - we will truly never forget this! Huge shoutout to the whole staff at Mara Bush but Collins and Bernard really made our experience go above and beyond what we ever could have expected. I hope I have the opportunity to return someday <3
kaitlynprobst
kaitlynprobst
2021-11-28
Just amazing The coolest place we stayed during our safari. The tents are extremely comfortable and right on a river full of hippos! You can hear them grazing right next to you at night and wake up to watch them on your porch with a fresh french press delivered by staff 🙂 Tents are spaced apart really well so you feel like you're all alone and can't see other guests - which was really fun. The food was great and there is a beautiful spot to enjoy drinks next to a fire where you can spot hippos and crocodiles. We especially loved our bartender, Collins! He made our stay really wonderful. Hope to return one day!
Nicole K
Nicole K
2021-11-10
Ein Traum - besser geht nicht! Ich war zum 3. Mal hier, aber zum 1. Mal im Mara Bush Camp statt im Private Wing. Aber es steht diesem in nichts nach. Das Camp ist ein Safaritraum! Schon die Begrüßung durch Nelson war ein herzliches Wiedersehen. Alle Mitarbeiter sind super freundlich, aufmerksam und lesen einem jeden Wunsch von den Augen ab. Die Hygienevorgaben in Coronazeiten wurden gut eingehalten und die Nachhaltigkeit, mit der dieses Camp betrieben wird, ist einfach nur vorbildlich und bewundernswert! Jegliches Plastik wurde verbannt. Und was ich schon bei den letzten Malen im Gegensatz zu anderen Camps toll fand, ist, dass man sich hier sein Frühstück für die Box nach seinen eigenen Wünschen zusammenstellen kann und nichts wegschmeißen muss! Und alles ist in Glas und Papier verpackt! Das Avocado-Sandwich, Joghurt mit frischem Obst und Cerealien, Pancakes und frischgeprässte Säfte, ein Highlight. Die Lage des Camps ist super. Das Essen fantastisch und auch Extrawünsche werden erfüllt. Vor dem Dinner kann man am Lagerfeuer mit Campmanager Nelson sitzen und alle anderen Gäste kennenlernen und bekommt dazu einen Häppchenteller und auf Wunsch Cocktails oder andere Getränke gereicht. Wenn man später ins Bett geht, liegt die heiße Wärmflasche schon unter der Bettdecke. Sobald es dunkel ist, wird man auf jedem Weg von einem Masai persönlich begleitet. Die Zelte sind super ausgestattet und haben sogar Wlan. Alles in allem kann man sich in dieses Camp nur verlieben. Und auch als Alleinreisende habe ich mich hier jede Sekunde vollkommen sicher und wohlbehütet gefühlt. Besser geht es einfach nicht!!! Und so Gott will, werde ich definitiv wiederkommen. Vielen Dank für alles!!!
MaxH408
MaxH408
2021-10-29
Fantastic eco camp with amazing staff The Mara Bush Camp is embedded into the bush of the Masai Mara. The Camp is setup along a river with many Hippos. Along the river are the living tents which offer amazing comfort and everything needed. A comfortable bed, Shower, bathroom and a lot of space. After dark you are bing picked up by a guide to the dining area, during daylight you can walk around freely. The Camp is done all eco friendly and run by amazing staff. Nelson as Camp Manager is fantastic and running a super nice, kind, attentive and motivated team. The chef is amazing and taking care with delicious meals. Couldn't recommend a place more than this one!
Karena
Karena
2021-10-29
Ein Platz zum verlieben Eingebettet in die atemberaubende Kulisse Kenias inmitten eines Flussarms liegt das Mara Bush Camp. Umgeben von Nilpferden, div. Vögeln, Pavianen und allen anderen Tieren Afrikas kann man hier direkt im Herzen der Masai Mara in das Abenteuer Kenia eintauchen. Nach jeder Ausfahrt wird man von Nelson und dem Team wieder herzlich in Empfang genommen und alle Wünsche werden einem erfüllt. Das Essen ist traumhaft und krönt den Aufenthalt hier mitten im Dschungel. Am Abend können sich die Gäste am Lagerfeuer austauschen und dabei den Tag ausklingen lassen. Die Zelte sind perfekt ausgestattet und wlan gibt es sobald man das Camp betritt. Vor allem wird hier aber auch auf Nachhaltigkeit geachtet und alle sind bemüht nicht unnötig Ressourcen zu verschwenden!!
mashabapics
mashabapics
2021-10-24
Mara Bush Camp revisited Last night I dreamt of serval kittens playing on a fallen tree trunk, sadly it was only a dream. However, a month ago I was in the Maasai Mara and spent hours observing these adorable felines. I flew from Nairobi’s Wilson airport to the Ol Kiombo airstrip, which is just a few minutes from Mara Bush Camp. I wrote a review in 2010 (Super Safari Spots) and although I have been a frequent visitor decided it was time to do so again. The Camp, which has been redesigned, boasts an L-shaped open plan bar area and photo lounge on a raised wooden platform, the covered dining area is just opposite. Weather permitting one can eat outside on the riverbank and enjoy a pre dinner drink around the campfire. The tents are now all on raised wooden platforms. The chef created some great meals, particularly enjoyed the Lebanese lunch buffet. Also special dietary requests were not an issue. Absolutely loved the homemade granola which I had on my Bush picnics. Nelson and his fantastic team go that extra mile to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay, so whether you are a first timer or an old safari hand you will be impressed by how attentive the staff are. The guides are all very experienced, many of them are also interested in photography. I was so very fortunate to have James as a guide and was able to take amazing photographs of the big cats and a thrilling river crossing. However for me the highlight was being able to spend hours with two different families of serval cats. Even though I have been to the Maasai Mara countless times serval kittens have always eluded me! Thank you so much James. As always the team in Nairobi, especially Sonam, organized everything perfectly.
Mike A
Mike A
2021-10-23
Fantastic staff Nelson the camp manager is an absolute hoot. Super organised and funny. New tents are really spacious and well equipped, although a bigger desk and 2 chairs would have helped. Food was very varied and generous. My only critism would be the meat was often substantially overcooked, especially on the BBQ.
Elizabeth J
Elizabeth J
2021-10-22
Excellent service and family froendly We stayed two nights at Mara Bush Camp during the great migration. The service was fantastic - from the attentive manager, to the excellent wait staff, and even to the guide who towed us out of a mud hole on our way to the camp! We felt we were well taken care of every step of the way. Our safari guide, James, was exceptional. He tools us wherever we wanted to go, recognized we had kids with somewhat limited attention spans, and even found us a viewing of a river crossing after we were about to give up! Food was really good and we loved the nighttime hippo serenades. Upon our departure the food staff prepared for us some boxed lunches which really made the 6 hour trip home manageable. Big cheers for Mara Bush Camp!
Tam T
Tam T
2021-10-21
Unique and Unforgettable This is a special camp. My family and I were so charmed by how personal and intimate this safari experience was--and we have done many safaris at other camps/parks. We felt so well cared for by the staff who knew us by name(and we knew theirs) and they accommodated our food allergies and diet restrictions for every meal, including the picnic packages. Every meal was first class and five star--the chef even came out to greet us the first day--and my husband still raves about the breakfast granola, desserts, and homemade juice. My kids always asked for seconds! I also loved how "natural" and environmentally friendly the accommodation was. Our tents were nestled among dense trees and we were right on the river, with hippos down below. We drank water from glass pitchers(no plastic bottles anywhere--yeah!) and the toiletries were in refillable dispensers(no single-use shampoo bottles, wasted soap bars!). My daughter loved the natural ingredients in the shampoo/conditioner. When we requested picnic breakfasts, we got real bottles of homemade juice instead of juice boxes and everything was packaged in reusable containers or biodegradable paper wrappings. And the entire camp is powered by solar energy! This is a safari experience at its best, where you can enjoy nature and wildlife without feeling like you are trashing the place at the same time. And there are plenty of luxurious details--like plush towels, warm bottles in your bed at night, and hot coffee/tea/hot chocolate/home-baked goodies delivered to your tent before you head out for an early morning game drive. Ahh... unforgettable!
Based on 113 reviews.
Nicolas de NEEF
Nicolas de NEEF
2021-12-02
It's my second home !! It's my favorite place to stay in Masai mara . All was perfect , food , bed with hot water bottle the staff ( Nelson ) is always there in case of need. Hippos keep us company at night !! we come back again and again
Kaitlyn Probst
Kaitlyn Probst
2021-11-28
The coolest place we stayed during our safari. The tents are extremely comfortable and right on a river full of hippos! You can hear them grazing right next to you at night and wake up to watch them on your porch with a fresh french press delivered by staff 🙂 Tents are spaced apart really well so you feel like you're all alone and can't see other guests - which was really fun. The food was great and there is a beautiful spot to enjoy drinks next to a fire where you can spot hippos and crocodiles. We especially loved our bartender, Collins! He made our stay really wonderful. Hope to return one day!
Marianne Pachler
Marianne Pachler
2021-11-07
Das Mara Busch camp ist einfach ein Traum. Nelson und sein Team ein Wahnsinn .Essen gut ,man fühlt sich einfach wohl .waren das zweite mal dort kommen bestimmt wieder .
George Ambe
George Ambe
2021-10-25
Superb,just in contact with nature
Anna Lena
Anna Lena
2021-10-19
Actually there is nothing we can criticize - it was all perfect. Really beautiful camp and accommodation with super friendly staff and very good food! Of course our highlight were the game drives in the Masai Mara and all the beautiful animals we saw. The biggest compliment goes to our driver guide - he was so nice, motivated and enthusiastic! He speaking German (very good!) was absolutely nothing we expected. He gave everything to fulfill our wishes and did a perfect job! Thank you so much for this experience!
Henning Allmers
Henning Allmers
2021-10-15
Ein sehr schönes Erlebnis. Sehr nettes Personal, Zelte auf einem sehr hohen Niveau mit allem Komfort. Das Essen war ausgezeichnet. Die Tierwelt in der Maasai Mara ist unglaublich vielseitig und spannend. Ich bin sehr dankbar, dass ich wieder dort sein durfte.
Gabriela Pachler
Gabriela Pachler
2021-09-30
Wir waren jetzt schon das 2.Mal im Mara Bush Camp (das letzte Mal vor 2 Jahren). Es war ein freudiges und herzliches Wiedersehen! Wir fühlten uns sofort wieder zuhause. Es hat eine wunderschöne Lage, die Zelte sind super ausgestattet, das Essen ist einfach köstlich, das Personal total freundlich. Campmanager Nelson ist total um seine Gäste bemüht, einfach super. Und sich am Abend am Lagerfeuer vor dem Abendessen entspannen. War sicher nicht unser letzter Besuch 🙂 Vielen Dank für den schönen Aufenthalt! Asante Sana!!!
Alexandra Simões
Alexandra Simões
2021-09-16
Amazing place. The tends are comfortable, the service is amazing (love the hot water bottle in my bed)the cook is excellent. A Unforgettable sunsets